funny, horror

The Southern Book Club’s Guide to Slaying Vampires by Grady Hendrix (Book review)

About The Book

A supernatural thriller set in the ’90s about a women’s book club that must protect their friends, family and community from a newcomer to the neighbourhood who turns out to be a blood-sucking vampire.

My Review.

I LOVED THIS BOOK! I loved every single minute of this book. This is my favourite book so far this year.

The first few pages of this book had me smiling, and really liking Patricia Campbell. I wanted Patricia to be my friend fright from page one.

This book, at its core, is a heartwarming and funny story about a book club. There is some wonderful female friendships in this story. This book is also REALLY FUN, it had me smiling and laughing out loud and talking out loud to the characters. I really felt a lot of connection to Patricia and the other housewives.

There is a lot of down talking to the women in this story by the men and the women are regularly patronized and gas lighted by neighbours or their own husbands…

But that’s done on purpose in this book, not to show that this is the way women should be treated, but to show how wrong it is to under estimate women. To show how wrong people can be if they think a housewife is ‘stupid’ or ‘weak’ because she is a woman or because she is a housewife.

The women of the book club, Patrica, Kitty, Maryellen, Slick, Grace and Mrs. Greene are absolutely NOT about to take a threat to their children’s safety lying down.  I love these women. They are wives, mums and friends, they deeply care for each other (even when making fun of each other) and come together to fight no matter what. So many variations of strength, courage and love shown in these women.

Patricia did annoy me slightly in the book when she sees  James Harris hurting a child one night and then kind of talks herself out of believing it really happened and  her husband talks her into denying what she saw…I was a bit like “Come on Patricia! you saw what you saw!”… but then I softened a bit as I thought, well, It would be extremely difficult to deal with actually seeing a vampire and believing what you saw and acting on it…especially with everyone around you making you feel crazy over it… I mean how would I react if I saw a vampire??

Patricia soon snaps out of it though, and gets ready to kick vampire butt.

This book does have some bloody, gory scenes and  talks about sexual assault and suicide so it might not be the right book for everyone to read.

But, In case you didn’t realise, I LOVED it! and I definitely recommend reading it.

Gold star
5 out of 5 stars

Grady Hendrix is an American author, journalist, public speaker, and screenwriter known for his best-selling 2014 novel Horrorstör.

southernbcgdevampslay

Leave a comment