Uncategorized

A book to share with tween boys.

I wanted to find a new book to read to/with my sons of an evening. We have fallen a bit into bad habits at night lately with skipping out on doing any reading. We finished the Percy Jackson series and then we just kind of ‘konked out’ on reading.

My boys (12 and 11 years old) were watching t.v. or playing computer games at night…right up until bedtime 😱. I did a quick google search on books for tween boys and after having a bit of a browse I decided on The Mysterious Benedict Society. We read chapter one tonigh and it has us hooked!

Chapter one introduces the reader to Reynie Muldoon, a young boy living in an orphanage who is very different to his peers. Reynie and his tutor see an ad in the newspaper offering a test to children… a test which may provide the children who pass with ‘special opportunities’ and Reynie can’t resist taking the test. The chapter ends with Reynie passing a few tests but there is more to come in chapter two.

I’m hoping this book will get our reading mojo back.

Have your children or yourself read The Mysterious Benedict Society? If so, what did you think of it?

Do you have any book recommendations for boys around 12 years old?

*I see that there’s also a series based on this book on Disney+ that we will check out once we finish reading.

Leave a comment